All the Real Indians Died Off by
In this enlightening book, scholars and activists Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz and Dina Gilio-Whitaker tackle a wide range of myths about Native American culture and history that have misinformed generations. Tracing how these ideas evolved, and drawing from history, the authors disrupt long-held and enduring myths such as: 'Columbus Discovered America'; 'Thanksgiving Proves the Indians Welcomed Pilgrims'; 'Indians Were Savage and Warlike'; 'Europeans Brought Civilization to Backward Indians'; 'The United States Did Not Have a Policy of Genocide'; 'Sports Mascots Honor Native Americans'; 'Most Indians Are on Government Welfare'; 'Indian Casinos Make Them All Rich'; [and] 'Indians Are Naturally Predisposed to Alcohol.'
Growing up Native Americ by
Native American writers recall childhood in their native land. Provocative pieces from Louise Erdrich, Michael Dorris, Anna Lee Walters and more bring childhood experiences into sharp focus and speak of pain, love, mischief, anger, betrayal and healing.
Native American Rights by
An indepth and comprehensive work on the civil rights of the First Nations people (primarily in the United States). Includes signed articles, extensive bibliography and contact information (including websites) of organizations for further research.
American Indians of California, the Great Basin, and the Southwest by
Examines the various cultures of the indigenous peoples of California, the Great Basin and the Southwest, including social practices and spiritual beliefs.
American Indians of the Northeast and Southeast by
Explores the history, languages, rituals and interaction with European colonizers of the indigenous tribes of the Northeast and Southeast region of the United States, also known as Eastern Woodlands.
American Indians of the Plateau and Plains by
Examines the defining features of Native American tribes of the Plateau and Plains region of the United States, both before and after horses were introduced to the region and shaped these cultures.
Native American Mythology A to Z by
Presents detailed coverage of the deities, legendary heroes and heroines, important animals, objects, and places that make up the mythic lore of the many peoples of North America.
UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.
Use this database to find primary sources and brief overview articles to explore themes relating to indigenous peoples of North America from pre-contact to the colonial era into the 21st century.
This is one of our History Research Center databases. American Indian History provides access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines. This comprehensive database allows for an interactive, multifaceted look at the indigenous peoples of the Americas.
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, and the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the rich ancestry and traditions of Native Americans.
From our Infobase Issues & Controversies database.