Program Review: Services

The library has a number of useful resources for students that will help them in their educational goals. These resources include:

• Laptops and hotspots for loan 
• Computers with internet access and all of the Microsoft Office programs
• Free WiFi
• Study rooms
• Color and black/white printing and copying
• A copy center that includes a paper cutter, staplers, scissors, hole punchers, scanners
• A vast collection of databases, including Gale and Ebsco
• A diverse collection of physical and electronic books
• A collection of CDs, DVDs and over 120 magazines
• Access to materials not held by the library via Interlibrary Loan
• A reference and local historical collection
• A Children's book and DVD collection
• and the Oral history series

The Library has a large percentage of the textbooks on reserve. Most books are for 2 hours, library use only, however, there are a number of important exceptions:

• When we have multiple copies of a textbook the additional copies are available for 24-hour loan.
• Textbooks checked out after 4 pm (11 am on Fridays) are due back the next morning at 9 am.
• EOPS and Promise Scholarship students are eligible to check out specific textbooks for an entire semester.

Search our Course Reserves for a title or call the library at (209) 588-5119 for assistance. 

Faculty can request that the librarian meet with his/her class and present a subject-specific session on methods and sources for conducting research. Please email Brian Greene (greeneb@yosemite.edu) or call 209-588-5179 for more information on scheduling a session.

If you want to schedule time for your class to work in the library but do not find it feasible to have librarian-mediated instruction, please call first, 209-588-5179.

The Columbia College Library's Oral History Series is a collection of interviews about the rich history of the Mother Lode. The interviews in the collection were originally recorded between 1949 and 1992, primarily through the Introduction to Oral History course taught at the college by history professor Richard L. Dyer, but new interviews are being added regularly. These interviews provide a vital link to the history of our community.

In 2016 we introduced a new Oral History website that has been viewed by people throughout the state.

Oral History Series

Exam Proctor Request form Note: Columbia College exams only

The Library works with other institutions for information resource needs. This service (I.L.L.) helps the college community patrons obtain materials(s) which are not readily available in our library collection.

Creating an ILL Request

Set up your library discovery account so you can:

• Renew library materials online.
• See what items you currently have checked out.
• Place a hold on an item.
• Request an item from another library.
• See if you have any fines.

Discovery Account