English Language & Literature: Search Tools

Why Use Journal Articles?

Journal articles -- also known as "scholarly articles," "peer-reviewed articles," or "academic articles" -- are sources that are written and reviewed by scholars; this means the information is approved by other experts before publication.

When and Why You Should Use Journal Articles:

• You need information that is based on research and expertise
• You need in-depth analysis of a topic or a single case study explored in-depth
• You need recent scholarly conversations about a topic
• You need suggestions for additional sources (tip: look in the bibliography)
• You need sources that are peer-reviewed

Remember: Journal articles can sometimes feel dense or intense. Look for visual cues (headings, sections, bullets, charts/graphs) within articles to help guide you to relevant information. Need help? Check out this Anatomy of a Scholarly Article tutorial.

Use Library Search

Library Search is your gateway to discover books, journal articles, and much more at Temple University Libraries. Additional information can be found in our Library Search 

Find Literary Articles & Criticisms -- Best Bets

These are subject-specific databases, meaning they contain sources focused on one discipline -- unlike the Library Search which contains many. For some researchers, searching in a subject-specific database is more efficient and less overwhelming than searching in the Library Search. You decide your preference.

• MLA International Bibliography 

  Contains citations (and some full-text) to articles on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and much more.

• Gale Literature Resource Center 

  Contains full-text literary criticisms as well as author biographies and bibliographies.

• Gale Literary Index 

  Search this digital master index to find coverage of authors and works in products published by Gale.

• Identify More English Databases

Find Even More Articles & Criticisms - Related Databases

These databases are useful for literary scholars whose research interests are more interdisciplinary.

• Gale Literature Criticism

  Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.

• Scribner Writer Series

  Contains full-text articles focused on the entire spectrum of television and film writing.

• Gale Onefile: Diversity Studies 

  Contains full-text articles focused on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

• Bloom's Literature 

  Contains citations (and some full-text) to articles on film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more.

• Literary Criticism Online

  Contains articles and more focused on the study of language and language sciences, including linguistics.

• JSTOR 

  Contains full-text articles in scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including many language and literary journals. Now includes e-books, too.

• Twayne's Author Series 

  Contains full-text articles in many key scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Now includes e-books, too.

• Gale Onefile: Gender Studies

  Contains full-text articles from journals in Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Find Journals

Want to know if we have a specific journal or periodical?  Use the search box to find full-text online or print journals:

• ILLiad

  If the journal does not appear in this search or the available date range does not match the date you need, request the item via ILLiad (interlibrary loan).

Find the Full-Text

Can't Locate Your Article Online?

• Use the link found in the Library Search or the button available from most other databases to locate the entire article online.
• If your article is not available in print or via another research database, request it via ILLiad (interlibrary loan).